





Declaration of Cooperation among the Houses of the Parliaments of
The Netherlands, Slovakia and Malta in support of the preparation and fulfilment
of the parliamentary dimension of the European Union Council Presidencies
of these three European Union Member States for the period

1 January 2016 - 30 June 2017

Declaration of Cooperation among the Houses of the Parliaments of

The Netherlands, Slovakia and Malta in support of the preparation and fulfilment
of the parliamentary dimension of the European Union Council Presidencies
of these three European Union Member States for the period

1 January 2016 - 30 June 2017

## RECOGNISING:

- the significant role of the Presidency of the Council of the European Union, the challenges and
  opportunities it presents and the efforts required of the Houses of the Parliaments of The Netherlands,
  Slovakia and Malta (hereinafter referred to as 'the Parties') in working towards the common objectives
  of the European Union,
- the pivotal role of national parliaments to ensure democratic legitimacy of the functioning of the EU and to bridge the gap between EU decision making and citizens in Europe arising primarily from Article 12 of the Treaty on European Union,
- · the active and increasing role of national parliaments in contributing to the functioning of the European Union, including the legislative process under the Lisbon Treaty, and
- · the growing importance of interparliamentary cooperation as an integral element of the Presidency of the Council of the European Union,

the undersigned Parties resolve to work together in the spirit of mutual cooperation, to effectively coordinate the preparation of the parliamentary dimension of their respective Presidencies of the Council of the European Union for the period 1 January, 2016 to 30 June, 2017 and to engage with and assist each other in the achievement of each country's Presidency parliamentary programme;

RESPECTING THE PRINCIPLE OF PARLIAMENTARY AUTONOMY AND THE CONSTITUTIONAL ARRANGEMENTS OF EACH PARLIAMENT:

## UNDERTAKE TO:

- ensure effective communication and co-ordination at political and official levels across the three
   Parliaments with regard to the conferences, programmes and other relevant parliamentary activities
   related to the respective Presidencies,
- · ensure effective coordination with regard to co-operation with the European Parliament on issues that touch upon the Presidency Trio, and
- ensure coordination regarding the effective communication of the outcome of conferences and other parliamentary activities to European citizens.

In order to accomplish these objectives, the Parties agree to consult each other regularly on issues relating to the successful preparation and implementation of the parliamentary dimension of the respective Presidencies. For the accomplishment of this declaration, Parties may, as appropriate:

- organise working meetings at the level of Speakers or other representatives of the Parliaments of the Parties aimed at discussing issues connected with the successful accomplishment of the Presidency's parliamentary dimension,
- · organise working meetings of the administrations of the Parliaments of the Parties in order to consult each other, exchange best practices and prepare meetings at the political level.

The Parties will strive to organise their working meetings as cost-efficiently as possible, convening on the occasion of EU interparliamentary meetings when possible and appropriate, and making best use of digital tools. The Parties will also ensure close cooperation between their representatives in Brussels or other designated liaisons.

The Secretaries-General of the Parties to this Declaration shall take all necessary and appropriate actions to ensure that the provisions of this Declaration are successfully implemented.

Signed in Rome on 20 April 2015 in four identical copies.

The Netherlands

Mrs. Ankie ROEKERS-KNOL
President of the Senate
of the Kingdom of the Netherlands

Mrs. Anouchka VAN MILTENBURG Speaker of the House of Representatives

of the Kingdom of the Wetherlands

The Slovak Republic

Mr. Peter PELLEGRINI

Speaker of the National Council

of the Slovak Republic

Dr. Angelo FARRUGIA

Malta

Speaker of the House of Representatives

Parliament of Malta

